Various Blues and Predominant Yellows Palette

For this mixing study, I employed the following blue tube colors: ultramarine blue, cobalt blue, and Schevenings blue light.   I also used the following yellow tube colors: yellow ochre light. cadmium yellow lemon, cadmium yellow light, and cadmium yellow middle.  The blue tube colors represented 25% of the mixes while the yellow represented 75% of the mixes. Each was mixed with varying proportions of titanium white.  

All of these greens are lovely in their own way. The biggest surprises to me were the lovely mostly green grays achieved with ultramarine blue and cobalt blue mixed with yellow ochre. The brightest greens are achieved with cadmium yellow lemon. There isn’t a lot of difference between cadmium yellow light and cadmium yellow middle but both have interesting tones mixed with white. I’m not sure it’s worth keeping both of these yellow tube on the pallet but for now I will continue to explore these them.  Honestly, though, I am tempted to dismiss with cadmium yellow light in favor of the middle, because I find cadmium yellow lemon  to be much more versatile than the light.  Choices!  

Leave a comment